Statement of Deficiencies

1103.A.-D.: Critical Incidents and Required Notifications

1103.A.-D.: An early learning center shall make immediate notification to emergency personnel, law enforcement as applicable, and other appropriate agencies for the following types of critical incidents involving children in care:

- 1. death;
- 2. serious injury or illness that required medical attention;

3. reportable infectious diseases and conditions listed in LAC 51.II.105; and

- 4. any other significant event relating to the health, safety, or well-being of any child, including but not limited to a lost child, an emergency situation,
- fire or other structural damage, or closure of the center.
- B. The parent shall be contacted immediately following any immediate notifications made under Subsection A.
- C. The department and other appropriate agencies shall be notified via email within 24 hours of the incident.
- D. The department shall be notified by written report within 24 hours of the incident or the next business day. This written notification shall be made on
- the department's Critical Incidents Report Form and shall contain all information requested on the form.

Finding:

1103.A.-D. Based on record review/interview(s) on 2/8/2021, S1 failed to notify Child Welfare within 24 hours and the parent of the child immediately of the following critical incident: On 2/5/2021, S17 observed S7 respond to C1's, four-year-old, behavior in a manner that was concerning. S17 saw S7 holding C1 by his upper arms, telling him she was sick of him and his behavior. S17 intervened and took C1 to another part of the classroom and C1 told S17 that S7 hurt his face. S17 stated she observed a red line under C1's left eye. On 2/8/2021, S17 told S16 what she heard and observed S7 do with C1 and S16 notified S1 that evening. On 2/9/2021, S1 emailed C1's parents to request a meeting in order to discuss the incident. On 2/10/2021, S1 called and notified Child Welfare (time unknown) of the allegation.

Corrective Action Plan: Effective 2/23/2021, S1 stated any critical incidents that are reported to the Department will also be submitted to Child Welfare and once she is notified of any critical incidents she will notify the parents the same day and document it and all attempts made to the parents to ensure this deficiency is not cited again.

1509.A.1.: Child Abuse and Neglect Policy

Not Met

Not Met

1509.A.1.: Child Abuse and Neglect Policy

a. As mandated reporters, all staff and owners shall report any suspected abuse or neglect of a child to the Louisiana Child Protection Statewide Hotline 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437);

b. An early learning center shall not delay the reporting of suspected abuse or neglect to the Child Protection Statewide Hotline in order to conduct an internal investigation to verify the abuse or neglect allegations; and

c. An early learning center shall not require staff to report suspected abuse or neglect to the center or management prior to reporting it to the Child Protection Statewide Hotline.

Finding:

1509.A.1. Based on interview(s)/record review: As a mandated reporter, S17 failed to report suspected abuse of a child to the Louisiana Child Protection Statewide Hotline 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437). On 2/5/2021 at approximately 9:45am, when S17 walked into the back of the class, she observed S7 on her knees at C1's level, aggressively holding his arms and telling him how sick she is of him and his behavior. S17 tried to deescalate the situation by taking C1 into another part of the classroom and talking to him. C1 told S17 that S7 hurt his face and she observed a red mark under his left eye. S17 stated she did not report this as S2, Director Designee, was also in the classroom and she thought she also saw what happened.

Corrective Action Plan: Effective 3/1/2021, S1 stated there is an all staff training on 3/5/2021 and she will retrain all staff on what their responsibilities are as a mandated reporter of suspected child abuse or neglect. If any staff believes a child has experienced any form of abuse she will ensure staff feels comfortable reporting the suspected abuse to either the director or designee so a report can be filed with the Louisiana Child Protection Statewide Hotline so this deficiency is not cited again.